Board of Directors

Lee Arnold

Chair, Audit Committee
Director of the Library and Collections
The Historical Society of Pennsylvania

Ronald Brashear

Arnold Thackray Director of the Othmer Library of Chemical History
Chemical Heritage Foundation

Justin M. Carisio

Manager, Executive Communications

Susan Glassman

Chair, Programs Committee
The Wagner Free Institute of Science

Stanley N. Katz

Lecturer with rank of Professor in Public and International Affairs
Director, Princeton University Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies
Woodrow Wilson School
Princeton University

Matthew J. Killion

Jefferson Medical College
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital

Martin L. Levitt

Librarian of the American Philosophical Society
Professor of History, Temple University

M. Susan Lindee

Chair, Board of Directors
Professor, Department of History and Sociology of Science
Associate Dean for the Social Sciences, School of Arts and Sciences
University of Pennsylvania

Mary Patterson McPherson

Chair, Nominations and Governance Committee

Edward A. Montgomery, Jr.

H. Carton Rogers

Vice Provost and Director of Libraries
University of Pennsylvania

Terry R. Snyder

Chair, Libraries and Archives Committee
Librarian of the College
Haverford College

Jeffrey L. Sturchio

Chair, Development Committee
Senior Partner
Rabin Martin

Arnold Thackray

Chemical Heritage Foundation

Keith S. Thomson

Oxford University, Emeritus
Executive Officer
American Philosophical Society

Tom Tritton

Former President & CEO
Chemical Heritage Foundation

John C. Van Horne

Chair, Membership Committee
Edwin Wolfe 2nd Director
The Library Company of Philadelphia

Harriet Zuckerman

Senior Fellow
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

Hand car for transporting charges from incorporating mills to press house in the DuPont Company's Hagley powder yard. Image courtesy of the Hagley Museum and Library.

Officers of the Corporation


Babak Ashrafi

Executive Director
Philadelphia Area Center for History of Science


Martin L. Levitt

Librarian of the American Philosophical Society
Professor of History, Temple University


Carl Miller

Retired as Chief Financial Officer
American Philosophical Society